Presidential Debate Moderators Announced
Credit: DonkeyHotey
September 2, 2016

The Commission on Presidential Debates released the names of the moderators for the three presidential debates this Friday. Now the question is whether or not Trump will show up for all of them.


This year's three presidential debates will be moderated by NBC's Lester Holt, CNN's Anderson Cooper and ABC's Martha Raddatz, and Fox News Sunday host Chris Wallace.

The vice presidential debate moderator is Elaine Quijano of CBS News.

Holt, the anchor of the NBC Nightly News, will lead the first debate, which is set to take place at Hofstra University on September 26.

Cooper and Raddatz will co-moderate the second debate, which will be a town-hall style event in St. Louis, Missouri.

Wallace will moderate the third and final presidential debate in Las Vegas, Nevada. [...]

The Commission on Presidential Debates had initially planned to announce moderators in late August, but held the announcement til September.

The delay was due in part to an unprecedented challenge the bipartisan commission faces in selecting individuals who are immune (or at least as immune as possible) to accusations of bias. Trump made it more challenging than ever.

Can you help us out?

For 18 years we have been exposing Washington lies and untangling media deceit, but now Facebook is drowning us in an ocean of right wing lies. Please give a one-time or recurring donation, or buy a year's subscription for an ad-free experience. Thank you.


We welcome relevant, respectful comments. Any comments that are sexist or in any other way deemed hateful by our staff will be deleted and constitute grounds for a ban from posting on the site. Please refer to our Terms of Service for information on our posting policy.