December 31, 2010

Aretha Franklin - Forever the Queen of Soul.

A little something from us at Newstalgia to take you into the New Year. It's the legendary Aretha Franklin, kicking off her 1968 European Tour in Stockholm Sweden. The sound is a little dicey the first minute or so (it IS a 1968 tape after all) but it settles in and it's a great concert with Aretha in top form. Here's a list of what she does and who's in the band:

Aretha Franklin - Konserthuset, Stockholm, Sweden, May 2nd 1968, FM.

1st show on '68 Europe Tour
1. Don't Let Me Lose This Dream >
2. Soul Serenade
3. Night Life >
4. Baby, I Love You >
5. Groovin'
6. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
7. Come Back Baby
8. Dr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business)
9. Since You've Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)
10. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
11. Chain Of Fools >
12. Respect

Russell Conway: Trumpet
George Davidson: Drums
Aretha Franklin: Piano, Vocals
Carolyn Franklin: Vocals, Vocals (Background)
Gary Illingworth: Piano

I don't have to tell you not only what a legend she is, but how much all of our prayers are with her for a speedy recovery. And just a reminder of why she will forever be known as The Queen Of Soul.

Happy New Year from the gang at Newstalgia.

Can you help us out?

For nearly 20 years we have been exposing Washington lies and untangling media deceit, but now Facebook is drowning us in an ocean of right wing lies. Please give a one-time or recurring donation, or buy a year's subscription for an ad-free experience. Thank you.


We welcome relevant, respectful comments. Any comments that are sexist or in any other way deemed hateful by our staff will be deleted and constitute grounds for a ban from posting on the site. Please refer to our Terms of Service for information on our posting policy.