Newstalgia Mid-Week Concert The Orchestre National de France conducted by David Afkham and featuring violinist Sergey Khachatryan in music of Prokofiev and Shostakovitch, live from Paris on December 2, 2010.
December 22, 2010

Sergey Khachatyran - Another in a seemingly endless line of extraordinary young virtuosos.

Over to Paris this week for a live performance beamed to several countries on December 2nd of a concert featuring Orchestre National de France conducted by David Afkham and featuring Armenian violin virtuoso Sergey Khachatyran playing the Prokofiev 2nd Violin Concerto. The orchestra also plays the Shostakovitch 10th Symphony. Great performances given to a sell-out and very appreciative crowd, which also includes an encore by Bach with Khachatyran receiving thunderous applause.

The concert is complete and is on two players - the top player features the Prokofiev with the Bach encore. The bottom player features the Shostakovitch.

And for you note takers:

jeudi 2 décembre 2010
En direct du Théâtre des Champs-Elysées : Prokofiev, Chostakovitch

Serge Prokofiev:
Concerto N°2 en Sol mineur Op.63 (1935)

Dmitri Chostakovitch
Symphonie N°10 en Mi mineur Op.93 (1953)

Sergey Khachatryan, Violon
Orchestre National de France
David Afkham, Direction

Announcements are in French and are cut down to fit time constraints.

Remember, it's Anti-Road Rage Wednesday.

Can you help us out?

For nearly 20 years we have been exposing Washington lies and untangling media deceit, but now Facebook is drowning us in an ocean of right wing lies. Please give a one-time or recurring donation, or buy a year's subscription for an ad-free experience. Thank you.


We welcome relevant, respectful comments. Any comments that are sexist or in any other way deemed hateful by our staff will be deleted and constitute grounds for a ban from posting on the site. Please refer to our Terms of Service for information on our posting policy.