These Democrats Voted Against Stopping The ACA Repeal Effort
Credit: Washington Post
January 13, 2017

PLEASE READ THIS: Your representatives whom you defend are resting on their votes against the Senate resolution passed in the dead of night. However, ranking Democrat John Yarmuth (D-KY) also offered a separate substitute resolution to block the Senate resolution AND fund infrastructure. This list is a list of those Dems who did not vote for Yarmuth's resolution. They ALL voted against the Senate resolution. It's not enough to vote against the Senate. They needed to be FOR something; namely, the ACA.

Here is the list of Democrats who voted with all Republicans in the House against Rep. John Yarmuth's effort to substitute an infrastructure bill with the resolution to begin repealing the Affordable Care Act.

To be clear, all of the names on the list also voted against the Senate resolution to begin repeal, so presumably they were released to vote against Yarmuth's blocking resolution as political cover.

That is unacceptable to me. Now is the time for them to stand up for the ACA in ALL circumstances. They will argue that the resolution wasn't going to pass anyway, so they could have some cover with more conservative constituents. I'll just call BS on that right now.

One of these representatives was mine. And I will be in her office, explaining why it is unacceptable for her to EVER vote against a proposal to block repeal. I would recommend that you all choose the same course of action. Now is the time for a united front, not cowardly political cover.

Here are their names, states, and links to contact them.

  1. Rep. Pete Aguilar - CA
  2. Rep. Ami Bera - CA
  3. Rep. Julia Brownley - CA
  4. Rep. Cheri Bustos - IL
  5. Rep. Gerald Connolly - VA
  6. Rep. Jim Cooper - TN
  7. Rep. J. Luis Correa - CA
  8. Rep. Jim Costa- CA
  9. Charlie Crist - FL
  10. Henry Cuellar - TX
  11. Rep. John K. Delaney - MD
  12. Rep. Susan DelBene - WA
  13. Rep. Bill Foster - IL
  14. Rep. Josh Gottheimer - NJ
  15. Rep. Jim Himes - CT
  16. Rep. Derek Kilmer - WA
  17. Rep. Ron Kind - WI
  18. Rep. Ann Kuster - NH
  19. Rep. Daniel Lipinski - IL
  20. Rep. David Loebsack - IA
  21. Rep. Zoe Lofgren - CA
  22. Rep. Stephanie Murphy - FL
  23. Rep. Tom O'Halleran - AZ
  24. Rep. Scott Peters - CA
  25. Rep. Collin Peterson - MN
  26. Rep. Jared Polis - CO
  27. Rep. Kathleen Rice - NY
  28. Rep. Jacky Rosen - NV
  29. Rep. Raul Ruiz - CA
  30. Rep. Brad Schneider - IL
  31. Rep. Kurt Schrader - OR
  32. Rep. Kirsten Sinema - AZ
  33. Rep. Darren Soto - FL
  34. Rep. Thomas Suozzi - NY
  35. Rep. Niki Tsongas - MA
  36. Rep. Peter Visclosky - IN
  37. Rep. Timothy Walz - MN

Can you help us out?

For 18 years we have been exposing Washington lies and untangling media deceit, but now Facebook is drowning us in an ocean of right wing lies. Please give a one-time or recurring donation, or buy a year's subscription for an ad-free experience. Thank you.


We welcome relevant, respectful comments. Any comments that are sexist or in any other way deemed hateful by our staff will be deleted and constitute grounds for a ban from posting on the site. Please refer to our Terms of Service for information on our posting policy.