Read time: 1 minute

Kyrsten Sinema Declared Winner Of Jeff Flake's Senate Seat

There are still thousands of votes to count, but Sinema's lead is too large to overcome, apparently.

For the first time since 1988, a Democrat has won a Senate seat in Arizona. The race has been called for Kyrsten Sinema earlier today, and Martha McSally conceded a few hours ago in a video.

For her part, Sinema is the first woman elected by Arizona and she's anxious to get to work.

It's likely McSally will still go to the Senate. John Kyl was only expected to occupy John McCain's seat through the end of the year, and the Governor could appoint McSally to finish McCain's term.

At any rate, this is the second Senate pickup, thanks to voters in the western states. Welcome, Senator Sinema!

More C&L Coverage


We welcome relevant, respectful comments. Any comments that are sexist or in any other way deemed hateful by our staff will be deleted and constitute grounds for a ban from posting on the site. Please refer to our Terms of Service (revised 3/17/2016) for information on our posting policy.