'Occupy This Album' Nominated For Indie Music Award

Occupy This Album: A compilation of music by, for and inspired by the Occupy Wall Street movement and the 99% was nominated for "Best Compilation Album" by Independent Music Awards.

The album features fan favorites and never before released tracks from Ani DiFranco, Willie Nelson, Yoko Ono, Mogwai , Warren Haynes, Joan Baez, Steve Earle, James McMurtry, Lucinda Williams, Tom Chapin, Immortal Technique, Our Lady Peace, Thievery Corporation, Toots and The Maytals, Tom Morello, Third Eye Blind, David Crosby & Graham Nash, Jackson Browne , Yo La Tengo, Rain Phoenix, Patti Smith, Anti Flag, Garland Jeffreys, Amanda Palmer, Dar Williams, The Mammals Featuring Pete Seeger, David Amram, Arlo Guthrie and Family, Matt Pless, Fear Nuttin Band, Filmmaker Michael Moore, and More.

Music For Occupy's debut release "Occupy This Album" joins more than 300 exceptional self-released and independent label releases, artists, as well as former major label acts named by Music Resource Group as nominees in The 12th Independent Music Awards, the influential awards program for independent bands and fans.

"Occupy This Album" is nominated among an eclectic mix of established artists and artists on the rise including Ben Kweller, Band Of Skulls, Bright Eyes, Langhorne Slim & The Law, Omar Sosa, Killer Mike, Paper Lions, Sarah Cheng-De Winne and The Congregation, among many other deserving artists whose recordings were released during the 12th IMA program eligibility period.

There are two ways the album can win: the judges will pick one winner, and the fans will pick one winner. So if you enjoyed this music, get registered and cast your vote. Then spread the word. Voting is open until Friday, July 19, 2013.

For more information visit: www.MusicForOccupy.org or www.facebook.com/musicforoccupy.



We welcome relevant, respectful comments. Any comments that are sexist or in any other way deemed hateful by our staff will be deleted and constitute grounds for a ban from posting on the site. Please refer to our Terms of Service (revised 3/17/2016) for information on our posting policy.