July 28, 2010

(Alice Sara Ott offers some inspired Tchaikovsky and Chopin)

This week's live concert comes from Sveriges Radio in Stockholm and features the Swedish Radio Symphony conducted by Daniel Harding with pianist Alice Sara Ott in a program of Tchaikovsky, Chopin and Mahler. Ott joins in the Orchestra in the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto Number 1 and then gives an encore of the Chopin Waltz Number 18. After the break, the orchestra plays Mahler's Symphony Number 6. A little something for everybody (well, mostly everybody). A little over 2 hours, the concert is broken up into two parts -Tchaikovsky and Chopin in the player above and the Mahler is on the player below. The announcements are in Swedish, but don't let that stop you - there aren't many of them.

For you purists:

Den tysk-japanska pianisten Alice Sara Ott är 21 år gammal och blev som trettonåring utsedd till mest lovande artist vid "Hamamatsu International Piano Academy Competition", och två år senare vann hon första pris i "Silvio Bengalli International Piano Competition" som den yngsta deltagaren.
Nu turnerar hon världen över och i april/maj följde hon med Sveriges Radios symfoniorkester och Daniel Harding på turné i Tyskland.
1. Peter Tjajkovskij: Pianokonsert nr 1 b-moll.
2. Frédéric Chopin: Vals nr 18 a-moll.
3. Gustav Mahler: Symfoni nr 6 a-moll.
Solist: Alice Sara Ott, piano. Dirigent: Daniel Harding. Konsert 28/4, Laeiszhallen, Hamburg. Från 9/7.

Can you help us out?

For 18 years we have been exposing Washington lies and untangling media deceit, but now Facebook is drowning us in an ocean of right wing lies. Please give a one-time or recurring donation, or buy a year's subscription for an ad-free experience. Thank you.


We welcome relevant, respectful comments. Any comments that are sexist or in any other way deemed hateful by our staff will be deleted and constitute grounds for a ban from posting on the site. Please refer to our Terms of Service for information on our posting policy.